by scragins  24/01/2019  71 Page Views
1 Comments  Criminal law, traffic matters, DUI, assault, theft, fraud
Hi there, I'm a 27 year old male currently living in NSW, right on the border of NSW and VIC.

I'm unable to transfer my license from NSW to Vic, which is stopping me from moving there. I think I'm required to attend a 2 day rehab course in Vic, and this is what I'd like to bypass. I haven't touched drugs since the incident and I rarely drink alcohol, so being lectured by someone about it and having them trying to 'teach me' just doesn't feel logical. The cause was from 8 or so years ago when I was a dumbass teenager, and the only offense to my name in these past 8 years is a single speeding ticket (which was not done on purpose, the road dropped from a 100 km zone to a 50km zone and I was over the limit a few meters past the 50km sign. My fault, I let my truck roll in neutral letting it slowly drop to conserve fuel and brake pads).

I'm a professional driver (truck driver, mostly long distance) and have been doing this for the past 3~ years. Currently employed full time. My criminal record is blank. I rarely drink alcohol, I don't smoke cigarettes and I don't do any drugs apart from restavit (sleep aid for shift workers, taken when I sleep in the truck).

What would my chances be if I asked the magistrate to place me on something along the lines of an undertaking of good behavior? If he were to consider the age of the offense, my behavior during the past 8 to 9 years, my current demeanor, my career requirements and long term employment status? I'm not a hoon, I don't cause trouble, I don't even go out to night clubs and what not.