by adamjedgar  16/10/2018  163 Page Views
2 Comments  Commercial law, litigation, contracts, IP, property law
hi guys,
i am new to this forum.
I run a small business (bobcat/excavator hire), and I hope the explanation of my situation below is satisfactory...im no lawyer obviously.

Background

About 4 months ago i undertook a job for a concretor in NSW.

The amount of the work i completed was billed in two parts $1100 (which was paid after about a month of beggings and pleadings),

and a further $4600 value of work completed a couple of months later.

3 months after invoicing for the last works, and after 3 letters (the 3rd being a final reminder) and email dialogue between myself, him and his mother (the company director), i managed to get $2200 payment with an excuse in an email that he was only able to transfer a maximum of that much per day and would complete the remainder the following day (which has not happened).

I note that the most recent payment of $2k was made by the son accessing his mother's personal account using a banking app on his mobile phone and not the pty ltd company (i have a screenshot of the transaction...shows even how much charge his mobile phone had at the time the transaction was made).

In searching registration records i have now realised:

1. the concretor is not a director of the company, or included in its registration documents i have downloaded from ASIC

2. The company was registered in November last year

3. His concretors license is not attached to the company (according to dept fair trading it is illegal for this company to undertake residential building works because it is essentially unlicensed)

4. He is also a sole trader and had a registered trading name similar to the company name i was told to invoice, however that business name was deregistered about 2 years ago