by viper  15/08/2007  39 Comments  1872 Page Views
Family & de facto law, financial agreements, consent orders

Hi there, Im a newbie to these forums but have a few questions to ask about paying child support!

Ok ..Ill try to cut a long story short.

Bascially I have split from my partner of 5 and a bit  years and we have a 4 year old daughter who was born in 2003.

Prior to getting pregnant - he was living in my house that I paid off my X husband for and never contributed anything to the mortgage and rarely any bills - he also earned substancially less money than I do as I have been in my fulltime government job now for around 18 years.

Anyway - after my daughters birht , I went on maternity leave for 6 months. I went back fulltime as there was just not way that my patners salary would even pay the mortgage and bills each month..which was no drama at the time....I knew on his salary that he couldnt support me staying at home with our baby.

It was decided that he would work from home on a part time basis while still looking after our daughter and of course do all the mundane housework stuff since I was going back to work 5 days a week and afterall I earned alot more than him so could afford to pay the mortgage and bills etc.

When she was 2 we decided to put her into daycare for 3 days a week as he was not really keeping the house clean and tidy ( put that down to laziness I think !) so I figured 3 days to himself to get what had to be done, done as well as having 1 day to just veg out and do what he wanted ..anyway ...

About 15 months ago I decided to end the relationship because I was beginning to resent him for being able to stay home with our daughter and watch her do things of a day while I was working 5 days a week and missing out on time with her...as well as he was crap at keeping a house tidy even with 3 days out of a week without a child to take care of.

Sorry...I was going to keep this short but its hard.