Forum Name: Assault, DUI, Drugs, Fraud, AVOs, Traffic Fines
Forum Discription:
URL: https://www.aussielegal.com.au/forum/forum_posts.asp?TID=25270
Printed Date: 23/April/2019 at 08:26

Topic: Journalist Shield Act QLD
Posted By: Macca79
Subject: Journalist Shield Act QLD
Date Posted: 05/November/2018 at 17:44
Ok, I know there is no Shield act that protects Journalists in QLD.

But let me finish.
I'm a professional photographer and videographer and have been working on a documentary for the past 3-4 years, documenting the illegal street racing scene of Australia.

I know that recently in South Brisbane a group was raided and had hard drives taken by police with their incriminating hooning activities on it.

In Melbourne a man was charged with organising a criminal gang after hosting hoon gathering in industrial estates. And although I haven't done that. I wondered if they could pin that on me. Raid my home and take my computers.
Or with the newest QLD law in which you must identify the operator of a vehicle in hooning videos or you could face jail time.

Am I safe from any of this, is it safe to release my documentary after a certain number of years. What's the go here?

I couldn't have worked on this for years just to never release it at fear of ruining my own life.

Replies:
Posted By: citizen-joe
Date Posted: 05/November/2018 at 21:20
If someone has broken the law and you know who it is, journalist or not it is your civic duty to reveal that information to the police if they come asking.

A good way to stay out of jail is to tell the police what they wish to know.

Posted By: Macca79
Date Posted: 06/November/2018 at 23:13
Unfortunately not what I was asking

Posted By: citizen-joe
Date Posted: 07/November/2018 at 00:31
May not be what you asked. But no, you are not obliged to report such a matter, but if the police ask you about it you have no immunity you must tell them what you know, or you may be charged.